skip navigation

PHRF Fleet


Commodore Ray Boyd        
PHRF I (spinnaker)
Fleet Captain 
Clay Babcock
PHRF II (non-spinnaker)
Fleet Captain      
Josh Garvin
Secretary / Treasurer Chuck Ulmer
Rating Committee Chair / Website Dan Schertner

Fleet Rules

WYC PHRF Fleet Rules


The WYC PHRF fleet consists of two racing fleets with a combined total of over 40 sailboats that compete using the Performance Handicap Racing Formula (PHRF) for scoring.  PHRF Fleet I (PHRF - I) allows the use of a spinnaker fleet while PHRF Fleet II (PHRF - II) is a non spinnaker fleet.  Racing is open to all un-modified self-righting monohull sailboats that are 17 ft LOA or longer and we welcome new crew members, and in particular potential new boats to the fleet.



    In 1979 Larry Klick had an Ettchell 22 he wanted to race at WYC. That boat and others did not fit the MORC requirements, some of which are self-bailing cock-pit, two 6ft. berths and being measured. Larry did some searching and realized PHRF would be the answer. The beauty of PHRF was that it had an established National Rating system that would be easy to use.  Twenty-two joined. Presently there are 39 Members.

    There were two fleets that raced with spinnakers and one non-spinnaker. In 2006 the group voted to have a division with spinnakers and non-spinnaker.  The extra trophies left from PHRF lll were used for Women's Series, BI, M, and Frostbite.

    We are known as a welcoming, competitive, friendly group with good parties.