WYC Board and Key People

WYC Board of Directors

The Wayzata Yacht Club board of directors volunteer to oversee and manage the club operations. We are a "working board", where most board members are responsible for specific segments of the club operations.

Please ask your board members any questions you have about the club operations or forward you suggestions to them. We meet monthly on the second Monday of each month.

Flag Officers

Primary Responsibilities

Commodore: Beth Frampton General club administration
Vice Commodore: Charlie Schroeder One heartbeat away...
Treasurer: Paul Quast Keeping the heart beating...
Secretary:   Ernest Brody Secretary, Scoring Chair
Rear Commodore: Randy Gould Relax and sail!
WYC Directors  
Thorn Turner Director at Large
Terry Foster Race Committee, Dock Chair
Dick Jackson Director at Large
Odell Tuttle Director at Large, Communications Chair
Barbara Speltz            Director at Large, Wine on Wayzata Bay Chair
Mike Miller Director at Large
Howard Noreen Director at Large, Liaison WCSC
Andy Spence-Parsons Director at Large
Jonathan McDonagh LMCD/City Liaison
Don Sundell Director at Large, Social Chair
Todd Myers Crew Representative
Pat Maloney Wayzata Community Sailing Center

Committees Outside the Board of Directors

Protest Chair: Kevin Kenny  
Arbitrators: Fred Sommer, Terry Foster,  Bruce Martinson, Kevin Kenny, Bob Carpenter  
P.R.O. / Scoring Input: Blake Middleton  
Scoring Support: Carmella Foster  
WYC Manager: Steve Bren  

WYC Racing Fleets

The Wayzata Yacht Club is a racing club comprised of active and progressive racing fleets. We are home to the founding J/24 and J/22 fleets in the world, and have long standing and innovative one design fleets of Capri 25, Sonar, Ensign and S2 7.9.  We also offer PHRF and MORC with active and competitive racing programs for any keelboat. 

Additional fleets are affiliated with WYC. The Lake Superior racers of the Apostle Islands race as part of the Wayzata Yacht Club as our Apostle Islands Station. We host Laser District 21 racing and are home to an active youth racing programs.  

We also sponsor groups for youth racing, match racing, and cruising.


Fleet Fleet Captain Web Editor
J/24 Sean Delaney
Dave Bennett
J/22 John Dyer
Capri 25 Derek Schmit
Bret Barnes
Sonar Ken Stieers
Hans Dickle
Ensign Andrew Larson
S2 7.9 Tom Elsen
PHRF I Clay Babcock
Peter Sussman
PHRF II Josh Garvin
Peter Sussman 
MORC II/III Scott Slater
Apostle Islands Station Dave Crum
Andy Spence Parsons
Laser District 21 Bruce Martinson