Past Commodores

WYC Past Commodores

The Commodores of WYC
Note: information is still being added to this page.

Beth Frampton

2016-: Overseeing a rebirth of excitement in promoting a new generation of sailing competition and continuing the tradition of all inclusive membership training and participation. 

Randy Gould

2014-2015: Oversaw 50th anniversary plans for WYC.  Guided club through extensive redevelopment of local streets and infrastructure. 

Jonathan McDonagh

2011-2013: Completed Wayzata PUD agreement and developers agreement. Represents WYC with LMCD and various government organizations. 

Dallas Johnson

2009-2010: Founded Capri 25 fleet. Built and managed first club website and and E-Newsletters. Board member 99-13. Worked with acquisition of Wayzata Sailing Center, all ADA sponsored Wine on Wayzata Bay events, and creation of Apostle Islands Station. Worked to improve city relations during Commodore tenure via PUD process.  

Merry Beth Hovey

2007-2008: Instrumental in the acquisition of the Wayzata Community Sailing Center property, restructuring of club finances.

Scott Brigham

2005-2006: Oversaw the early development of the Wayzata Sailing School and significant remodel of the clubhouse and the Sharon Foster Memorial Deck. Chairman of the ADA regatta overseeing 250k in fundraising.

Mark Janda

2002-2004: Oversaw the creation of the Wayzata Sailing School, the installation of a crane at WYC and the early development of the Wayzata Sailing Foundation.

David Onan III

1999-2001: WYC made substantial improvements to our Small Boat racing programs, began hosting Junior Olympic Festivals. Keel boat racing shifted to nearly 70% One Design racing by the end of 2001 with the addition of the S2 7.9 Fleet becoming a O.D. Fleet.

Larry Aubuchon

1997-1998: WYC made substantial improvements to our docks and launched our web site during Larry's tenure. The Capri 25 Fleet was founded in 1997. Additionally,  our relationship with the Lake Minnetonka Sailing School was reorganized, bringing professional youth training to our young sailors. 

Pete Willenbring

1995-1996: WYC


Scott Spaeth

1992-1994: WYC


Bob Albright

1991: WYC


Al Jensen

1990: WYC

Tom Colman

1987: WYC


Steve Levitus

1985-1986: WYC


Don Peterson

1983-1984: WYC


Mike Fanberg

1982: WYC


Pete Weir

1981: WYC


Bob Slocum

1983, 1988-1989: Construction was initiated on the new clubhouse during the 1983 season. During the 1988 and 1989 seasons, the WYC Board managed the club through the challenging low water years.

Phil Cole

1979: WYC


Mike Andert

1978: Initiated the G, T, and M series races on weeknights, naming the G and T series' after Gin & Tonic.


Denny Sanford

1977: WYC

Bert Foster

1975-6: WYC


Larry Klick

1973-74: WYC


Fritz Strassberger

1971-72: WYC


Fred Stevenson

1970: WYC


Dick Thews

1969: The share ownership of the club was launched with the help of Bob Wilke, Welles Eastman, and Bud Wunderlick.


Peter VanDusen

1968: WYC


Pat Maloney

1967: The Yacht Club consisted of the property (or lack of) east of the telephone pole on the bulkhead, one North-South dock with two East-West fingers, a meeting dock, and a n out-house on the bulkhead. Membership was about 60 Family and Individual members. The requirement to race to maintain membership was established. Moorings were increased to  66 slips and 30 buoys. The first committee boat was purchased. We also set up the lease of a picnic grounds on Big Island from Denny Kilbane, which the Club maintained for several years. The A and B Series of Sunday races was set up along with the Commodores' Cup and three family cruises.

Walter Brantingham

1965-1966: Walter, always known as a colorful character, was our first official Commodore when the club began with 23 slips and 21 buoys. He was the inaugural recipient of the Bail Bond award after an arrest warrant was issued by the City of Wayzata for the illegal mooring of his boat.

Franklin Crosby

1964: Thanks to Bob and Reed Holmgren for their vision and action to purchase the original WYC lake shore. Also to the quick thinking lawyer, Al Quello, who made the WYC a reality.